In Sight Explained

ATZ, horror and Post Apoc

Re: In Sight Explained

Postby Pzrjager » Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:54 am

If you win an In Sight test, can you just choose not to shoot and move instead?

From the Compendium:

The group winning the In Sight will now act. Each figure will act, in order from top to bottom:

- Fire.
- If cannot fire, will Charge into Melee if within
6”, otherwise Carry On.
- If in Duck Back, will recover to Carry On.
- If Hunkered Down:
- Can recover to Carry On if Rallied (page
20).
- If not contacted, remain in Hunker Down.


It doesn't look like you can. I figure "having" to shoot back after winning an In Sight is just part of the chain reaction system. It's a reaction rather than active fire, like in Ed's example in this thread.

However, I saw this example in the Compendium too:

Hunkered Down Harry (Rep 4) is fine with
hiding out until the shooting stops. Sgt. Billy Pink is
active and leaves cover causing an In Sight.

Winning the In Sight he continues his move to Harry.


Shooting after winning an In Sight is consider "inactive" fire, yet here Sgt. Billy Pink in the example just "decides" not to react.
User avatar
Pzrjager
Rep 4
Rep 4
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:52 am
Location: Busan, South Korea

Re: In Sight Explained

Postby stryderg » Mon Oct 08, 2018 2:02 pm

I don't have the compendium, but from other rules sets: stars can choose how many dice they pass when taking tests (ie. they get to choose their reactions).
Billy Pink is a recurring character in a lot of the rule books and is probably a star in that example.
Diplomacy is the weapon of the civilized warrior.
-- A. T. Hun (Robert Aspirin)
User avatar
stryderg
Rep 4
Rep 4
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 12:12 am
Location: South Louisiana, USA

Re: In Sight Explained

Postby Pzrjager » Mon Oct 08, 2018 3:02 pm

An exception due to a Star rule is a plausible guess, but in NUTS! 4th Edition Stars choosing how many die they pass just applies to Duck Back / Man Down reaction tests (or called "Crises Tests" in the compendium).

In other words Stars react to In Sight tests just like grunts.
User avatar
Pzrjager
Rep 4
Rep 4
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:52 am
Location: Busan, South Korea

Re: In Sight Explained

Postby THW » Mon Oct 08, 2018 7:57 pm

Pzrjager wrote:An exception due to a Star rule is a plausible guess, but in NUTS! 4th Edition Stars choosing how many die they pass just applies to Duck Back / Man Down reaction tests (or called "Crises Tests" in the compendium).

In other words Stars react to In Sight tests just like grunts.


The move option is in newer mechanics and I just bring it over.
User avatar
THW
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
 
Posts: 4545
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:08 am
Location: New Braunfels TX

Re: In Sight Explained

Postby Pzrjager » Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:15 am

Thanks Ed. I couldn't find that rule in NUTS! 4e or in the compendium so it's kind of confusing.

Is the rule like Stryderg said, Stars can choose not to react fire after winning an In Sight test?
User avatar
Pzrjager
Rep 4
Rep 4
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:52 am
Location: Busan, South Korea

Re: In Sight Explained

Postby THW » Tue Oct 09, 2018 6:05 pm

Pzrjager wrote:Thanks Ed. I couldn't find that rule in NUTS! 4e or in the compendium so it's kind of confusing.

Is the rule like Stryderg said, Stars can choose not to react fire after winning an In Sight test?


For Stars yes, but for Grunts I still let them use it if they are moving into contact and trigger a new In Sight.
User avatar
THW
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
 
Posts: 4545
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:08 am
Location: New Braunfels TX

Previous

Return to All Things Zombie and More

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest