[CR3.1] More noob questions

OFFICIAL THW Q&A. This is the ONLY forum that will regularly get official answers from Ed himself on rules questions. Please include the ruleset being discussed in the subject heading when posting a new question. Common issues such as In Sight, and order of reactions, will be stickied as they come up for easy reference.

[CR3.1] More noob questions

Postby mruseless » Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:12 am

Hi Ed (and all),

OK, noob here. After a couple play tests to familiarize myself with the mechanics, I’ve come across a few questions (I’m sure I’ll have more, but these are the ones so far where I couldn’t find the answers in the forums). I was playing CR3.1, but also experimenting with adding some of the rules from SA. Here goes.

If the leader of a group is stunned, does the group get his leader die for reaction tests and activation rolls? What about if he’s knocked down but able to carry on? I read here somewhere that Stunned is no longer used in Star Army, is that right?

If a group wins the In Sight test, do they have to shoot at the figures that triggered the test, or can they shoot at any other available targets?

How does Activation work with more than 2 players? We may have up to 4. Seems like there would be a lot of ties and rerolling.

In CR3.1, how are Defensive Values (DV’s) used? They are mentioned in CR3.1 section on buildings but are not referenced in any tables.

If a figure is Hunkered Down or Ducked Back, can it only take a Recover test when activated? (Notable exception being a result of “Higher than Impact” in the Ranged Combat Damage table.) Related to this, when a figure has to drop prone when Ducking Back, and later has to take another reaction test (like a Crisis test for received fire), what happens? Can they return fire or snap fire?