Sequencing

5150 Star Army, Star Navy, Fighter Command, New Beginnings and even CR3 if you're playing it as a Sci-Fi set.

Sequencing

Postby Oblomov » Thu Apr 27, 2017 5:03 am

Started gaming THW finally. Star Army with Nuts! activation.
Quick question on sequencing.
Do reactions occur immediately or after all figures on one side have acted? We had a situation where two Rep 5 soldiers won the In Sight and both wanted to fire at a single visible figure. The grenade launcher was on target but short, the laser rifle also fired, and killed his opponent. Was this fire simultaneous, or should the opponent have reacted to the missed grenade first? What if one was rep 5 and the other rep 4 - would that have mafe a difference to reactions? Thanks for any help.
'This one goes to eleven'
Oblomov
Rep 3
Rep 3
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:54 am
Location: Wisconsin, US

Re: Sequencing

Postby SquidLord » Thu Apr 27, 2017 6:07 am

When you say "with Nuts! activation," what exactly do you mean? At least per Nuts FV versus Star Army 2nd Tour, the only difference I can think of textually is that Nuts specifies that groups must be activated in descending order of leader Rep while SA is explicit that any activatable groups can be activated in whatever order the player desires, but that difference doesn't apply here.

SA p17 is pretty explicit about resolution order:

ORDER OF FIRE RESOLUTION

Here's the easiest way to resolve fire between two groups.

* Designate all targets.
* Resolve all fire from all shooters.
* Roll for all damage to all targets hit.
* Resolve damage as needed.
* Eligible targets now can return fire.
* When all fire is resolved from both groups, Unit Casualty Tests are taken.


In your case, both those Rep 5 soldiers must've been part of the same group, otherwise they couldn't have fired in the same activation action. Given that, both shots were fired simultaneously, fire would be resolved for damage and since the single target was dead there would be no way for him to make any Reaction Test (being dead is the most powerful reaction you can make, after all).

Since the difference in Rep would only affect whether or not they hit their target, it would have no actual difference on the result in this case.

Remember: actions, then survivors react. All fire exchanges complete, then reactions go off. Given the lethality of 5150, this means there aren't usually a lot of reactions to deal with in short order.
User avatar
SquidLord
Rep 4
Rep 4
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 5:46 pm
Location: Lawrenceville, GA

Re: Sequencing

Postby Oblomov » Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:39 pm

Thank you. This is how we played it. They were from the same group. Just checking to make sure we did it correctly. I meant In Sight testing SA vs Nuts! My set of rules seems to handle it differently between the two rule sets.
'This one goes to eleven'
Oblomov
Rep 3
Rep 3
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:54 am
Location: Wisconsin, US


Return to Sci-Fi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests