- (105.99 KiB) Downloaded 3935 times
- 2D6 Sci Fi Combat Linked 081416 2.pdf
- (5.87 MiB) Downloaded 180 times
Download it here now!
Questions and general discussion for all Two Hour Wargames products
tinyminis wrote:noticed one little minor mistake. says "one of four classes". there are more than four classes.
ravensron wrote:Just received 2D6 Sci Fi Combat. Been in or run very few games the past few years, but trend seems to be a lot more story and a lot less dice rolling; the adventure is what matters so much more than "realism" of the fights. Lo and behold, you come up with a game exactly for that purpose! Do have a few comments and questions, having watched my great-granddaughter play with the same plastic figures I've had since I was her age (and with which I've played, inter alia, Chain Reaction):
[color=#FF0000]Hi Ron, Here we go.[/color]
- Although 2D6 Sci Fi Combat as written actually doesn't need figures at all, you presume players put figures on the Battleboard which is a square foot in size; therefore there's a visual representation of some area in which the figures are moving around. "Cover" should therefore only apply if it is something the players see. That is, a figure is in cover if some item/object/terrain is inbetween it and whoever is shooting at it. I say this because, even though far too young even for this game, my great-granddaughter understands the idea that putting a wall or door between you and the monster saves you from the monster. So, if we're playing with figures, where they are on the table should mean something. The game is set up for not needing terrain, so on page 5 it says if roll on the Action table and have the Advantage - you're in cover. If you don't you're not. after the 1st Will to Fight Test everyone is in cover as once the shooting starts people will duck for any available cover.
- Similarly, there should be some kind of movement rule: "A figure can only charge an opponent within X inches" The board is 12" and normal THW movement is 8" and if you reach within 6" of the target you can charge. Yo can add movement, as well as setting up terrain, but maybe just follow the Chain Reaction guidelines.
- When the inactive figure is allowed to return fire, if the original active figure is still on its feet it can return fire, then the inactive figure if still on its feet can return fire again, etc., all within the first activation before anything else, just as in the other Chain Reaction systems? Yep, they blaze away until one gets hit.
- In the example on P.6, second paragraph: the three 2D6 rolls stated for "Billy" are damage rolls, presuming he already passed a single 2D6 to-hit roll? Correct.
- In the recovery rule on p.7: when a character is out of the fight, you recover him by moving another on the same side adjacent, then the following activation round both figures are off the board, then after the fight if the OOF character passes at least 1 of the 2 dice both he and the rescuer return to the gang? Correct. The notation in the After The Fight Recovery table on p. 8 - "Those those that Left the Table before their Leader do not return" - doesn't apply to the recovered guy and his rescuer, only to those who cut'n'ran? Correct, those that scored a Leave the Table result on the Will to Fight Test.
- If characters in melee are breaking even, each losing a Rep each round until if they're both at Rep 0 at the same time then they're both still at Rep 1 for the next round? Correct.I gather it's intentional that the fighters are tiring and thus now have only 1:6 chance of passing any dice. If one of them then passes a die, the other doesn't but passes the roll v. his DV he still drops a Rep which means he's 0 which means he's OOF? Right, it's over if one reaches 0 Rep and goes Out of the Fight. The loss in rep is recovered as it could be from tiring or losing an advantage during the fight.
- Melee rounds are all within the same activation? That is, if they break even and have to fight subsequent round(s) that all happens before the next check for activations of all the other characters in that encounter, same as the chain-reaction of shooting? Correct. One more thing to clear up is fighting more than 1 opponent. If you pass 2d6 against both, you drop 2 Rep. This makes Rep 6+ not so powerful. Hope this helps.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests