Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Back?

Anything from WWII through to Modern warfare. NUTS! and Supplements, Fire in Korea, FNG, CR3 and the like.

Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Back?

Postby Pzrjager » Thu Sep 27, 2018 6:42 am

4e p. 17, Involuntary Movement example:

When next active he takes the Recover Test, passes 2d6
and carries on. He now moves, triggers an In Sight, wins
it, and fires.


4e p. 21, last Recover rules bullet point:

Once the figure scores a result of Carry On, he
can remains in cover and out of site. If prone, he
could fire.


In the first example, he moves and shoots right after recovering.

In the second rules quote, it suggests you can only shoot if you're prone.

Can someone please clarify?
User avatar
Pzrjager
Rep 4
Rep 4
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:52 am
Location: Busan, South Korea

Re: Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Ba

Postby Wargamecastle » Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:03 am

I think the confusion here comes from the circumstances surrounding the two different figures in the examples. My take:

In the first example, the soldier in Duck Back has moved into cover, and therefore cannot see or be seen by the enemy that forced the duck back. When he recovers, he still can't see or be seen by an enemy group until he moves. When he moves (if he does) on his activation, he pops up from cover, and triggers an In Sight.

In the second example, it is implied that the soldier in Duck Back could not get to cover within 6" of movement, and so went prone instead. Since going prone in this way does not block his line of sight to or from the cause of his Duck Back, when he recovers, he can still see the enemy, and they can still see him, so he can simply choose to fire (Active Fire) without triggering an In Sight test.

Hopefully this is correct, this is only my interpretation of the two examples, and if Ed or anyone else can confirm or deny that would be useful.
As others have said in some of your question threads, as you keep playing and testing out the rules, they get easier to understand.
Nuts! is great!
Wargamecastle
Rep 3
Rep 3
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:54 am
Location: West Texas

Re: Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Ba

Postby Pzrjager » Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:10 am

I think that clears it up. You can move right after you recover from Duck Back, your explanation helps me see why I was confused. Thank you.
User avatar
Pzrjager
Rep 4
Rep 4
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:52 am
Location: Busan, South Korea

Re: Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Ba

Postby Wargamecastle » Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:16 am

Right, you can move immediately after you recover. Figures in Duck Back cannot return fire, they have to recover first, (see example under; Completing Reactions, 4E Pg. 22).

Asking questions is great, how else do we learn stuff? :)
Plus, your questions can get answers that help all of us.
Wargamecastle
Rep 3
Rep 3
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:54 am
Location: West Texas

Re: Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Ba

Postby Pzrjager » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:07 am

Figures in Duck Back cannot return fire, they have to recover first


The rule you're referring to under Completing Reactions only applies when you're forced to take another test prior to completion of the first. In that situation you always take the worse result.

Otherwise, figures in Duck Back can return fire.

From Resolving In Sight Actions in 4e p. 20
Fire – includes those that have Ducked Back if
they have LOS.


You can find clarification from Ed here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=4058&p=24277&hilit=duck+back#p24277
User avatar
Pzrjager
Rep 4
Rep 4
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:52 am
Location: Busan, South Korea

Re: Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Ba

Postby THW » Thu Sep 27, 2018 5:30 pm

Yep to the whole thread here. One starts in sight, one starts out of sight.
User avatar
THW
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
 
Posts: 4545
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:08 am
Location: New Braunfels TX

Re: Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Ba

Postby Wargamecastle » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:56 pm

Pzrjager wrote:
Figures in Duck Back cannot return fire, they have to recover first


The rule you're referring to under Completing Reactions only applies when you're forced to take another test prior to completion of the first. In that situation you always take the worse result.

Otherwise, figures in Duck Back can return fire.

From Resolving In Sight Actions in 4e p. 20
Fire – includes those that have Ducked Back if
they have LOS.


You can find clarification from Ed here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=4058&p=24277&hilit=duck+back#p24277


You're right, I knew this, yet somehow I managed to confuse myself, while to trying to clarify the reaction sequence. :roll:
As the link points out, they can also fire in reaction for In Sight tests, they just can't Active Fire until they recover.
Wargamecastle
Rep 3
Rep 3
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:54 am
Location: West Texas

Re: Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Ba

Postby Pzrjager » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:33 am

Vehicles can't move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Back, right?

From 4e p. 49,

Once the vehicle scores a result of Carry On, it
remains in cover and out of site.


I wonder why infantry can but vehicles can't.
User avatar
Pzrjager
Rep 4
Rep 4
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:52 am
Location: Busan, South Korea

Re: Can I move and shoot right after recovering from Duck Ba

Postby THW » Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:14 pm

In real life.
Infantry pops up and shoot.s
Vehicle has to get the order from the TC to move.
Driver has to drive.
TC has to tell him to halt.
TC has to order the Gunner to fire.
Gunner then fires.
User avatar
THW
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
 
Posts: 4545
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:08 am
Location: New Braunfels TX


Return to NUTS, FNG and More

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fbarraza28 and 3 guests