Questions and general discussion for all Two Hour Wargames products
JungleFighter wrote:That does help, and thank you for the quick response, Ed.
I imagine it would be the same for a one-on-one fight as well. Figure A shoots at Figure C, and hits three times. I roll for damage, and it results in a Duck Back, an Out of the Fight and an Obviously Dead. I pick the worst result (for Figure C), Obviously Dead, then move on. Correct.
I may have another daft question or two until I really have it down, but I am really getting a kick out of the THW system so far.
JungleFighter wrote:Greetings all,
I have been solo playing Chain Reaction 2015, and I have been having a lot of fun with it. I tried CR3.0 a few years ago, but I never really got the hang of it. Recently, I downloaded CR2015, and I found the rules to be more streamlined. The Stop! box explanations made everything easier to understand, as well. I think that I am getting it now, but I am still confused about a few things.
I am still a bit fuzzy on how one determines which Hits "count" when multiple figures are firing at the same time, and how to tell in what order the hits should resolved for damage.
An example from a recent game:
My group's Figures A and B are both firing their Assault Rifles (AR) (3d6) with 3 shots each at Enemy figure C.
Figure A (REP4) rolls 3d6 for 2 Hits and 1 Miss. Dice show: 6,5,3.
Figure B (REP4) rolls 3d6 for 1 Hit and 2 Misses. Dice show: 5,2,2.
I have been in the habit of counting the worst (highest) shots first, so the first thing I did, was to roll for Damage on Figure C from Figure A's highest hit, (a 6), which resulted in "1", which is "Duck Back". Nope, resolve ALL the hits versus the same target and keep the worse result.
My questions are:
Do I just move Figure C into cover and "Duck Back", even if Figure A scored another Hit, and Figure B did as well? Those other hits may have resulted in Dead or OOF. Nope all results resolved before anything is carried out. So a Miss, Miss, Hit, Hit, Miss and Hit form two fdifferent guys is three hits. Take the worse results for the taregt
Do those subsequent Hits not count at all? If I would have randomly chosen to roll for damage on the Figure A' s next Hit (5), of Figure B's Hit (5), they may have resolved as Dead of OOF, which would have been more satisfying (to me, of course) than "Duck Back". All hits count.
I am OK with just honoring the first dice roll on Damage that comes up, but I just wanted to make sure that this is how everyone else plays it, in case I play against real, live people some day.
How does one choose which hits to roll damage on first? Your choice but remember, all of the hits are resolved and lumped together.
Am I doing it the right way, by rolling for Hits, then placing the dice next to the figures, then rolling for damage on the "worst" hits first? Just resolve them all and apply the worse result. Hope this helps.
I'm sorry if these sound like stupid questions, but I looked all through the Forum and in AARs on blogs, and I could not find answers.
Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests