Muskets and Mohawks; another game, another question

The 'early' gunpowder days. Muskets and Mohawks, Long Rifle, Muskets and Shakos, And a Bottle of Rum and similar era games.

Muskets and Mohawks; another game, another question

Postby Cluck Amok » Tue Sep 05, 2017 4:57 am

Hi,

We had the following situation in our last game: a unit of rangers (Irregulars, Rep 4, Leader Rep 5) at the edge of the woods was Firing At Will at a unit of French Regulars in the open, in their firing arc but to the left. The Regulars were returning fire. During this firefight, a unit of French-allied Indians moved into the open directly in front of the Rangers. Next turn this unit of Indians would be in charge range of the Rangers.

We understand the rules mandate that the Rangers will continue to fire at the Regulars until a reaction result is attained. The Rangers, however, wanted to stop firing at the Regulars and Reload in preparation for the impending Indian charge.

In this situation, the intention of the rules as written may be to permit the "pinning"of the Rangers in a firefight so as to enable the Indians to close and then charge the Rangers while they are unloaded and otherwise occupied. That is how we played it; the Indians charged and won the ensuing melee. A perfectly reasonable series of events.

We wondered if this might be another way to apply the "Assert Control" rule I wrote about a couple posts ago in relation to controlled volleys? In this case the Rangers could have tested to turn their attention to the new threat directly in front of them - passing 2D6 they would have stopped firing and reloaded, passing 1D6 they would have stopped firing without reloading and passing 0D6 they would have continued to Fire At Will at their original target, the French Regulars.

Whaddyathink? Would this be in the spirit of the rules or starting down a slippery slope of "too much control?"

Thanks,
Chris
Cluck Amok
Rep 3
Rep 3
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:16 am

Re: Muskets and Mohawks; another game, another question

Postby THW » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:18 pm

The challenge with any rules are when unforeseen circumstances occur, such as what you are saying. I'd just go with the logical action, in this case, reloading as the Indian charge is the greater threat.
Hope this makes sense.
User avatar
THW
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
 
Posts: 4479
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:08 am
Location: New Braunfels TX

Re: Muskets and Mohawks; another game, another question

Postby Cluck Amok » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:58 am

Makes sense. Appreciate the usual quick response!

What makes sense to us is to permit a unit to test to Assert Control during a firefight if a new threat becomes visible.

Thanks again,
Chris
Cluck Amok
Rep 3
Rep 3
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:16 am

Re: Muskets and Mohawks; another game, another question

Postby Cluck Amok » Tue Oct 03, 2017 3:33 am

Hi Ed,

Another question, please :roll:

Is there a provision for attaching higher command leaders to units? If we read the rules correctly, the single use for higher command leaders is to activate lower command units. Are higher command leaders ever used as a unit's leader rep in reaction tests or ever at risk to be casualties during shooting or melee (aside from rallying a retiring unit that "bumps" into it)?

Feel like we're missing something. . .

Thanks again,
Chris
Cluck Amok
Rep 3
Rep 3
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:16 am

Re: Muskets and Mohawks; another game, another question

Postby THW » Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:05 pm

Cluck Amok wrote:Hi Ed,

Another question, please :roll:

Is there a provision for attaching higher command leaders to units? If we read the rules correctly, the single use for higher command leaders is to activate lower command units. Are higher command leaders ever used as a unit's leader rep in reaction tests or ever at risk to be casualties during shooting or melee (aside from rallying a retiring unit that "bumps" into it)?

Feel like we're missing something. . .

Thanks again,
Chris


Yep, just move the figure in physical contact with the unit. He assumes command and his Rep used on all Reaction Tests. Always the higher ranking Leader with the unit is used, even if his Rep is lower.
User avatar
THW
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
Rep 8 - *THE* Ed
 
Posts: 4479
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:08 am
Location: New Braunfels TX

Re: Muskets and Mohawks; another game, another question

Postby Cluck Amok » Wed Oct 04, 2017 4:39 am

Nice and simple - just like we thought it would be.

Thanks!
Chris
Cluck Amok
Rep 3
Rep 3
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 4:16 am


Return to Napoleonics / Black Powder / Pirates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest